Confused about are electric scooters street legal? Check out our guide to e-scooter regulations to find out the laws and rules in various countries and cities worldwide. Electric scooters are legal on public streets in 38 states, with ten states outright prohibiting them.
Electric scooters are prohibited on public streets in the following states:
- New Jersey
Electric scooters are legal on public streets in California, Colorado, Connecticut, Indiana, Massachusetts, and New York, but they are not allowed on an interstate or limited-access highways.
Although electric scooters are legal on public roads in most states, others have enacted new laws governing when and how scooters may be used on public roads.
Among these laws are:
Requirements for registration, title, and insurance
- Maximum speed permitted
- Security requirements
- Requirements for a license
- Restrictions based on age
Because many states allow counties and communities to create their own electric scooter laws, we recommend that you check with your state or local authority before riding a scooter to avoid fines and other penalties.
1. REQUIREMENTS FOR REGISTRATION, TITLE, AND INSURANCE:
Most states require registration, but some also require a title. Nevada is the only state that requires the inspection to be completed.
Only a DMV registration is required in North Carolina. Almost no places in the United States where electric scooters are legal on the road to require insurance. Only the state of Illinois requires insurance for electric scooters.
2. ALLOWED MAXIMUM SPEED
The legal speed limit for riding an electric scooter varies depending on where you live, from 15 mph to 25 mph. The default speed limit for electric scooters in the United States is 15 mph unless otherwise stated at the state level. The top speed limit in Arizona, Iowa, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, New Jersey, and Utah is 20 mph. In Colorado and Florida, the speed limit is 25 miles per hour.
3. REQUIREMENTS FOR PROTECTION
To ensure the safety of yourself and those around you, it is recommended that you use the proper protective equipment regardless of the type of scooter you are traveling in. Most states and cities require you to wear a helmet when riding an e-scooter. If you are seen riding an e-scooter without a helmet, you will be fined.
In addition to helmets, depending on the rider’s age, certain states require people to wear eye protection while riding an electric scooter. Among these states are:
- Providence, Rhode Island
- Dakota State
4. REQUIREMENTS FOR A LICENSE
An electric scooter does not require a license in many states. In Alabama, a motorcycle license is required. Kansas, Rhode Island, Michigan, South Carolina, and Tennessee all require a driver’s license. In Florida, any type of license will suffice, whereas in Texas, only a permit is required for scooters over 750 W.
5. AGE LIMITATIONS
In most states, there is no age limit for riding an electric scooter. States with a minimum age of 16 include Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Florida, Kansas, Nevada, North Carolina, Oregon, Rhode Island, Tennessee, and Vermont. Utah has a minimum age of 15, Mississippi has a minimum age of 14, and Michigan and Minnesota have a minimum age of 12.
6. WHERE SHOULD I PARK?
Parking an e-scooter on the street or in a public space can be difficult because most state laws prohibit it. On the other hand, governments are recognizing the problem and developing regulations to ensure that e-scooter owners park their vehicles safely and responsibly.
In some metropolitan areas, you can park your scooter on the sidewalk or near the street as long as it does not obstruct pedestrians. E-scooters must still be parked straight and not in the way of driveways or entrances.
Electric scooters may also be parked alongside public bike racks in other areas. They must, however, never be left on handicapped ramps or in parking lots.
Recommended: What is the legal speed limit for electric scooters
Riding an electric scooter can be a fun and convenient way to get around, but it’s important to know the laws of your state before taking one for a spin. Be sure to check with local authorities about registration, title, insurance, speed limits, and safety requirements in order to avoid fines or other penalties.
Additionally, make sure you park your scooter in a safe and responsible manner.